News & Stories

The 4th International Symposium on Nanotechnology at HIT

The 4th international symposium (NTAI-2018) was dedicated to the fields of Nanocomposites, Nano coatings & Nanoparticles and Nano photonics. This meeting will bring together people from both academia and industry to share their experience in nanoscience research, which already led to industrial applications or could serve to foster further development of nanotechnology-based products.


The guests were greeted by Prof. Eduard Yakubov, President of HIT,, Prof. Reshef Tenne from The Weizmann Institute of Science and chairman of the organizing committee, Prof. Yosef Ben Ezra, Dean of the Faculty of Engineering and Pro. Ezra Zeheb, Dean of the faculty of Sciences.

The symposium hosted several prominent figures in the field of Nano Technology, among them:


The Keynote speakers:
Prof. Mark Stockman | Center for Nano-Optics, Georgia State University, US
Prof. Tony McNally | International Institute for Nanocomposites Manufacturing, University of Warwick, UK
Prof. Daniel Wagner | Department of Materials and Interfaces, Weizmann Institute of Science
Dr. Thomas Fischer | Institute of Inorganic Chemistry, University of Cologne, Germany

Invited speakers:
Prof. Shmuel Kenig | Pernick Faculty of Engineering, Shenkar College
Dr. Raz Gvishi | Applied Physics Division, Soreq Nuclear Research Center
Dr. Alex Laikhtman | Faculty of Sciences, Holon Institute of Technology
Prof. Meital Zilberman | Department of Biomedical Engineering, Tel-Aviv University
Dr. Tsachi Livneh | Department of Physics, Nuclear Research Center, Negev
Prof. Tal Ellenbogen | School of Electrical Engineering, Tel Aviv University
Prof. Yaniv Gelbstein | Department of Materials Engineering, Ben-Gurion University
Dr. Ora Simcha Bitton | Nano Fabrication Unit, Department of Chemical Research
Support, Weizmann Institute of Science.

Dr. Amos Bardea: "Every year this symposium serves as a unique meeting place for researchers from Israel and around the world, who discuss topics related to Nano- science. There is great importance in encouraging reciprocity between Nano-science and Nano-technology so we can apply them to our daily lives and thus improve the world we live ".

Posters of the research projects in Nano -Technology of students from HIT and other institutions, were presented in the symposium.

These are the 3 winners in the Best Poster Award:

  • Nimrod Gazit- the department of materials, science and engineering in the Technion.
  • Dana Cohen- the department of organic chemistry in the Weizmann Institute of Science.
  • Desapogu Rajesh- the department of electronics and electrical engineering at Ariel University.

The organizing committee included: Prof. Alla Zak, Prof. Boris Feinberg and Dr. Leichtman from the Faculty of Sciences, Dr. Amos Bardea and Dr. Alexander Axelevitch from the faculty of Engineering.